Trevor

a blog so you can keep with him

CPJ

I’m in the Cooper Point Journal this week, for their “Vox Pop” quick Q&A weekly feature. I mention how I’d like to see less restrictions on what they publish (glad they published that), though my open letter to the “Student-Serviceman Coalition” about not censoring dialogue oddly did not… maybe it’ll appear next week (I admittedly didn’t put it together until Tuesday), but nevertheless I’m going to submit it to the Counter Point Journal now.

UPDATE: I was contacted by CPJ! Should be doing edits over today/tomorrow, they had some good editorial points (i.e., citing sources, use of pronouns) for me to mull over.

An Open Letter to the “Student / Serviceman Coalition”:

I have found my experiences with Police Services at Evergreen to be kind, cooperative, and facilitative to my interests with them. I do not believe this has held true for every one in the Evergreen community, regardless of their “criminal status”, unfortunately. Here are some of the factors in my favor:

I am white
I am male
I speak a common dialect of English

To suggest that every one, at every given time, on Evergreen campus is treated the same regardless of these factors by our Police Services is a lie, and a straw-man argument. I have difficulty with the claim that Police Services are bogged down by “negative propaganda, biased reporting and undeserved stigma”, when minority students of all sorts (non-male, non-white, non-Standard English) are approached and treated differently (whether for negative or positive results).

Yes, I am biased. I am biased towards open, free communities in which dialogue and cooperation are valued; and discrimination and censorship are alien concepts. When you attempt to negate conversation with sweeping dismissals of all those who might have issues with the Police Services at Evergreen, as I feel you are doing, then I do not see your coalition as in favor of dialogue.
I support Evergreen officers.
That does not require me to blindly support their practices, tactics, strategies, or affiliations: “Servicing the community” requires an understanding of community wishes and dynamics at all times.

In short, we should emphasize discussion, cooperation, and non-discriminatory actions in our approaches as a peer-based community of students, teachers, service officers, and workers, and not mutely assent to the wishes or demands of one group.

Trevor Van Dyke

Filed under: Evergreen, , ,

Leave a Reply

